Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Inserting records where they might already exist?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glowworm27

Programmer
May 30, 2003
US
Hello all,

Hope someone can help with this. I am fairly new to DTS, and found it to be the next best thing to sliced bread, when it comes to import/exporting Data.

No I have a huge database with several years worth of data. I am trying to off-load Old data to some archives. Thats the Easy part.

The hard part is if the user wants to get the data back the import routine is a bit troublesome, what with all the Foreign Key constriants we have on the database.

The trouble I am having is with customers. Our invoices have a one to many relationship with customers. (where by a customer can have multiple invoices) I am off-loading data in daily batches. so each run of the DTS will remove one days worth of invoices. I am off-loading (exporting to csv) all the data and then deleting the data from the database. The customers data may not be deleted if they have other invoices in the system becasue of Foregin key contraints, I do export that customer data to a csv, so if later down the road the other invoices that the customer may have been removed and the customer data is removed, I can get it back.