Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

InnerHTML - fast or slow? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Punchinello

Programmer
Apr 25, 2003
US
HTML Gurus,

I am new to html and I'm going to use <div id="custid">Some customer id</div> on a local html page and fill it with innerHTML on the DocumentComplete event. It is not a server-based application - this code runs on a fat client.

But wait.

It is not just the customer id. It is a whole bunch of fields that have to be populated like this. So my question is, if I use a bunch of statements like this: document.getElementById('custid').innerHTML = some value will my webbrowser flicker with each change on slow machines?

Might it be better to assign the body.innerHTML to a string, manipulate the string, and assign it back to the body.innerHTML all at once?

Unless we're talking a 286 here... Or 100+ DIVs (or so), then you should be fine with no flicker.

In fact, when creating about 2000+ DIVs, I found that using innerHTML to create them was by far faster than using the relevant DOM methods and adding to the document - something browser manufacturers might want to take heed of it they want anyone to use these DOM over Microsoft's innerHTML.

Hope this helps,
Dan

Hey, I have dusty IMB 386SX/12 laptop... innerHTML won't work on lynx :)

IMO for populating fields innerText is better - faster and performs HTML entity encoding.

Thanks guys, and on a related question: