Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Initialize Variables

Status
Not open for further replies.

john33

Programmer
Sep 25, 2000
US
I'm new to ASP and am using it in linking my webpage to a backend database.

If I choose not to use a global.asa to define my session and application variables, where else could I store them.

I was playing around with doing it in my code but would prefer to keep them together.

Your help is appreciated.

John,

What I like to do is set up a template system.

1-User connects to web page on Default.asp
2-Default.asp includes (<!--#include virtual=&quot;site/includes/sitevars.asp&quot;-->) a sitevars.asp file that contains code for DB access strings, site constants, color codes, etc.
3-Default.asp includes template.html
4-The template file looks like this...
Code:
<!--***-Begin PageSetup------Self contained - Contains document headers and all style settings--------------------***-->
<!--#Include Virtual=&quot;Site/Includes/SiteTemplates/template_pagesetup.html&quot;-->
<!--***-End PageSetup---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------***-->

<!--***-Begin TitleBar------Self contained - title bar-------------------------------------------------***-->
<!--#Include Virtual=&quot;Site/Includes/SiteTemplates/template_titlebar.html&quot;-->
<!--***-End TitleBar-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------***-->

<!--***-Begin MenuBar------Self contained - Site Menu bar----------------------------------------------------------***-->
<!--#Include Virtual=&quot;Site/Includes/SiteTemplates/template_menubar.html&quot;-->