Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Infinite Series 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

drbk563

IS-IT--Management
Nov 21, 2006
US
I am a c++ program beginner. I am learning c++ on my own. One of the exercise is to calculate pie=4-4/3+4/5-4/7+4/9-4/11.... I have try many ways and I cannot get it to work. Can you please tell me what is wrong? Thank you.

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

float pie=0;

int count = 0;

for(int i=0,j=1;i<=1000;i++,j=-j)
{
if (i%2==0)

if
pie += (4/((i*2)+1));

else
pie-= (4/((i*2)+1));

// float t=2*i+1;

// pie=pie+4*(j/t);

cout<<count++<<setw(30)<<fixed<<setprecision(16)<<pie<<endl;

}

return 0;
}

First, use [ignore]
Code:
[/ignore] tags when posting code.

Code:
if
     pie += (4/((i*2)+1));

else
             pie-= (4/((i*2)+1));
if what? this should always be true since it will default to:
Code:
if pie += (4/((i*2)+1));
and can only be false if pie == 0.
You need to fix this algorithm to get it to work right.

BTW, if you declare pie as a double instead of a float you can increase its accuracy.

Code:
i<=1000
If would be nice if we could get that many digits of precision out of a C++ type, but even a double will only be accurate up to 15 digits.

In practice it's a very bad series to calculate pi number. You must calculate over 1000000 members for 5 digits, 100000000 for 7 etc...

I got the results I was looking for thank you all for your help.

Thank you for (undeserved) star. Better try to implement much more interesting and instructive Wallis' identity calculation:
Code:
        2*2*4*4*6*6...
pi = 2* --------------
        1*3*3*5*5*7...