Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

in over my head 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tj63069

IS-IT--Management
Feb 13, 2003
US
Let me tell you where I am in over my head.
I was a contented blue collar worker about 10 years ago and the Production manager pulled me off my job one day and told me that he saw something in me that he thought he could build on. He gave me a 2 week project that lasted 8 years. I did not finish high school and am completely self taught in MS Office, Lotus Approach, AS/400, Vax. I had 1 year of mgmt classes and carried a 3.5 GPA. My IQ is 120. I have struggled with many different positions that always lead back to Computers. I do very well with the software and as good as I am at Access I do not know very much about VB. I left the company after doing a 1 year Project Manager slot for a ERP implimentation. Received a bonus for the job and split. I worked for that company for 28 years and accepted a better paying job working out of state with the same software. My job there was to enhance the poor Report system. ODBC,Access and Excel with a heavy use of Monarch.(Self Taught). Always uncomfortable and always under GREAT pressure. I am too old now for the Blue Collar stuff and don't know where to go next. Anybody ever hear a similar tail? How can an uneducated person be in the kind of demand I am and continue to get job offers???? I do not lie on my resume but it doesn't seem to matter. I would really like to consult but do not have the credentials!

To summarize: