Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

in bound Access-list blocks outgoing access 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveR1977

Programmer
Mar 29, 2002
US
HI.. I am new to Cisco routers. I have a problem with my access-list. When I settup an Incoming access-list my outgoing access is also blocked. I have an outgoing access-list setup that permit any trafic. As soon as I delete the inbound list my internet access works again.

What are you blocking on your inbound ACL? Posting the ACL's might be helpful in finding the cause of your problem.

Chris.
Chris Andrew, CCNA
chrisac@gmx.co.uk

Here is the access-list. I am not sure , but I think that it may be somthing that I am doing wrong with my static routing.

!Static Routing
Ip nat inside source static <local IP> 80 <global IP> 80 extendable

!Access-list
acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> 53 log
acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq 53 log
acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq 25 log
acc 101 permit tcp any host <Global IP> eq

Your outgoing connection from your inside hosts will have TCP ports greater than 1023. Your access list will block all incoming replies from DNS servers, web servers etc ..

Chris.
Chris Andrew, CCNA
chrisac@gmx.co.uk