Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Importing to Goldmine 5.7 Excluding duplicates in multiple databases

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulMSI

IS-IT--Management
Mar 4, 2008
US
Hi
I'm new to a company that is using goldmine 5.7 (dbase)
There are 5 different databases that are used to hold different types of contacts.
What I am trying to do is to import a list into 1 of the databases, but exclude those names that are in Any of the 5 databases.
I know how to exclude the duplicates that are in the database that I'm importing to, but I dont know how to exclude those duplicates that are in one of the other 4 databases.
Thanks for your help!
Paul

That's what I was afraid of. Thanks for your help!
-Paul

Well, in you could, but not in GoldMine itself.

You could import the contact1 table from each of the databases into an Access database, then combine those tables into one table, and compare your new list to that compiled GoldMine copy. Takes a good amount of Access knowledge but it's definitely doable.

Macros, Doug.... lots and lots of macros. Access is my friend. [upsidedown]

Hi Lisa
Thanks for your response. I'm more experienced with Access than with GM, so this is what I had already tried:
1. I imported the Contact 1 files from GM into Access, creating separate tables in Access.
2. I created different queries to see which contacts were duplicates using the contact name and state as the fields to join the tables on in the queries. (Assuming that the combination of the contact name and the state would give me unique identities)