Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I'm new to this.

Status
Not open for further replies.

RJavaargs

Programmer
Sep 10, 2001
US
Hi All.

I'm not sure if I'm even in the right place but I would like to know if there are any weblinks that explain how to be your own server? I'm a photographer + am into computers and have attempted programming and design my own web pages through notepad. I have been disqualified from a couple of sites because they have discontinued free space and do not allow ftp access :-(

I will admit I'm on the low income side but I'm desperate to have my upcoming newsletter in my town. I do believe in paying for space since it is the only right thing to do but because of financial issues I cannot. This newsletter will conform to IE 5.0, netscape 6, maybe 4.7 which I hear is better but they are both alright on my end. I have experience with working with other browsers like opera, lycos, and even webtv but will not be supporting these because of time constraints. I guess I'm taking on a lot. I do work a regular job plus I'm pursuing the photography dream I had always wanted. I'm also a graduate of a fine photo school and photography has been my dream.
Someday I would like to get out of where I'm at.

I feel I have somewhat of a decent knowledge on computers but am kind of not too familiar with networking, servers, etc. Only have read some.