Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I'm about to pull my hair out

Status
Not open for further replies.

fergmj

Programmer
Feb 21, 2001
US
ok. I am a decent perl programmer (I think) and I have finished my application and everything works except for ONE issue and I am about to rip my hair out over it so I am asking for some help. I've been staring at this for a long time so maybe I'm just too close to the problem and I can't see it.

So I have a block of code and it executes as it should
Code:
elsif ($beginning eq "edit")
    {
    my $edititem = $q->param("id");
    if (my $row = select_item ($dbh, $edititem))
        {
        display_edit_form ($row);
        }
    else
        {
        print "<FONT FACE='Arial' SIZE=2>No record with that ID was found";
        display_current_items_print ($dbh);
        }
    }

I get to the select_item subroutine just fine but in this subroutine, it is getting locked up on the $sth->execute($id). In fact if I just hard code in an id and make
Code:
my $sql = qq{ SELECT * FROM export WHERE id = 36};

it still doesn't work
it just gets stuck and never does anything

any ideas -- I am open to any comments -- THANK YOU in advance!

Code:
sub select_item
	{
        my ($dbh, $id) = @_;
        my ($sth, $row);
        my $sql = qq{ SELECT * FROM export WHERE id = ?};
        $sth = $dbh->prepare ( $sql ) or die $dbh->errstr;
        $sth->execute($id) or die $dbh->errstr;
	$row = $sth->fetchrow_hashref();
	$sth->finish();
        return ($row);
	}

As a follow-up note:

This is a very small table I am pulling data from.
MySQL is the database I am using.

only 40 rows in the table and hardly any data in my test database