Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Illustrator White to Transparent 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

minerat

Technical User
Jul 11, 2005
US
I'm pretty new to Illustrator and am starting with an image produced years ago. I have a black and white compass, with black triangular spokes and a white circle center with black text on that circle. It looks fine when exported on a white backgound
1.png

My problem is that I need the center to be transparent; I can change the background of the circle to transparent, but then the ends of the black triangles which make up the spokes show up (they are overly large and extend into the center).
2.png

I can't seem to alter the triangles to follow the curve. Can I somehow set my inner circle to transparent and not let the triangles show up? It kinda defeats the purpose of transparency to force it to cover up other layers, but I don't know what else to do, because when I export the image to a png, it's not fully transparent.

I've managed to create a clipping mask in a seperate layer that is exactly what I need to blank to transparent, but I can't make subtract what is already there.
3.png

Any ideas? Thanks

A clipping mask will work, but you have to do it a particular way. Try this (you might want to make sure everything is ungrouped before you begin):

1: Draw a shape that covers the entire compass -- any shape will do, such as a rectangle.
2: Go to View > Outline so you can see the rest of the shape.
3: Select the circle that marks the transparent area.
4: Double-click the Scale tool, select "Uniform", 100% scale, and press "Copy".
5: Without deselecting the circle, shift-click on the shape you drew in step 1 so that both are selected.