Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IIS set up and moving from PWS 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

credo

Programmer
Jul 26, 2001
GB
ok I'm an IIS newbie- just got XP Pro installed and want to be able to view locally 10 websites that I've developed. On my old OS (Win ME) using PWS I viewed these locally through the browser from c:/inetpub/ etc..... I didn't have to do much except point PWS to C:/inetpub/
Now, I'm on IIS5.1 - I have a problem and 1 question

Problem : when i go to through the browser it's trying to serve localstart.asp. It pops -up a security dialog asking for user name and password - I enter my OS name and OS password (I'm the only user and have admin rights I beleive). Nothing happens for a bit and then it pops up the same dialog with username filled in and password (where myName is the name I previosuly entered)... not sure why it's not getting past this dialog.

Question: to view the websites can I just simly copy the directiries under to view them locally ? (assuming get the problem above fixed) ?

thanks in advance.

PS. Are there any good tutorials abut IIS set-upthat anyone knows of.

hi,
Try using rather than 127.0.0.1, also the reason you are being asked for username etc could be that you have not set up directory browsing, this can be configured in the "internet services manager".

Also try adding a default.asp page to the " directory that has links to each of the files, when you then view you should get the page with your links.

As long as the websites are only html then you can view these by typing the address in internet explorer i.e. "c:\inetpub\ if the websites are ASP then they need to be viewed through IIS.