Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IIS Just not working 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 26, 2001
GB
Hi guys, i wonder if you could shed any light on my problem.

I have to set up our new dedicated server, and i'm having trouble getting web pages to work. I have some experience with IIS on windows XP and serve pages on my own machine no probs.

I have set up a couple of test websites, and i think everything should be working fine. They are set to the right directories and everything, with basic html pages in there. IIS says everything is 'running' in the window.

But when i try to access the sites in IE i i just get 404 errors. I've tried and also the i.p. but its the same whatever. I can't even view the default website with the ISS documentation.

I tried to reinstall IIS but it just screwed up the remote connection and I had to have the server reset!

Does anyone know what the problem could be?

Many thanks in advance,

Nick

Nick (Software Developer)

nick@retrographics.fsnet.co.uk
nick.price@myenable.com

Nick

I am currently having the same problem. What version of IIS are you using?

Susan

sounds like you may have DNS issues or the default page is not correct. More info on your systems would be useful.

Try this for a test.

In the IIS MMC, RC the site and pick browse, the site should open in the server web browser, The error type should point to what is wrong.

Chris.

Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?

Have tried RC & Browse on default site. (Sorry Nick - I'm taking over your post here...) Error message is as follows.

The page cannot be displayed
There is a problem with the page you are trying to reach and it cannot be displayed.