Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IIS 7.5 & Access 2013: Data source name not found and no default driver specified

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmayo

MIS
Apr 23, 2001
US
As a LAMP coder, I'm completely out of my element with ASP but I've agreed to do some minor updates for a new client's ASP site and I'm trying to mirror their site and create a coding/testing environment on my desktop PC.

I now have things working to the point where I can access copies of their DB (*.mdb) files using a system DSN connection string:

Code:
Set adoCon = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
adoCon.open "ACCESS2013"

but their code uses what I assume to be a DSN-less connection string that, for the life of me, I can't get working on my desktop:

Code:
Set adoCon = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
adoCon.Open "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)}; DBQ=" & Server.MapPath("dbs/projects.mdb")

When I use the above string, ASP tells me:

[pre]Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80004005'

[Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not found and no default driver specified

/test.asp, line 27[/pre]

with line 27 being the adoCon.Open statement.

The projects.mdb db file does exist where I think the server is looking for it at C:\inetpub\ and permissions on and to the file seem wide open.

The ODBC Data Source Administrator reports that the Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb *.accdb) version 15.00.5414.1000 is installed, so I guess there's a disconnect between IIS and the driver?

Any ideas/suggestions I might try?

Try changing dbs/projects.mdb to dbs\projects.mdb

xwb: Try changing dbs/projects.mdb to dbs\projects.mdb

Good thought, but no change.