Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

If Err.number <> 0 Then Loop?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tlitterio

IS-IT--Management
Jan 20, 2011
US
This is driving me crazy! I have the below code that works somewhat. What I want it to do is at the 2 points where it has the If Err.Number <> 0 Then statements to execute the code below then loop back to the top to start over again. What it is doing is executing the first computer in the list, then when it finds a machine with an error it displays as if all the following machines have the error; I know these machines work because I have moved them around in the ini file to make sure... Please help if you can, I am kind of new to all this.

Thanks!
Const ForAppending = 8
Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set objShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set objOutput = objFSO.OpenTextFile(".\services.csv", ForAppending, True)
objOutput.Write ("System Name,IP Address,Date Ran,Caption,Service Status,Startup Type,Service Name,Account Name")
objOutput.Writeline

On Error Resume Next
Set InputFile = objFSO.OpenTextFile(".\computers.ini")
Do While Not (InputFile.atEndOfStream)
strComputer = InputFile.ReadLine
strCommand = "%comspec% /c ping -n 1 -w 100 " & strComputer & ""
Set objExecObject = objShell.Exec(strCommand)

Do While Not objExecObject.StdOut.AtEndOfStream
strText = objExecObject.StdOut.ReadAll()
If Instr(strText, "Reply") > 0 Then

' Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:" _
' & "{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")

Set objSWbemLocator = CreateObject("WbemScripting.SWbemLocator")
If Err.Number <> 0 Then
objOutput.Write(strComputer) & ","
objOutput.Write("RPC Error")