Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IBM RS/6000 F30 - boot problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

u856100

Technical User
Feb 7, 2002
GB
Hi all,

I am new to AIX/IBM servers. I am trying to re-build an RS/6000 F30 server. I have tried what I think to be everything during the attempted boot from the floppy drive containing the boot disk (function keys, num keys, etc). The server just seems to hang on FEB - verify recovery image is valid - and the hard disk continues to remain lit.

I would like some advice as to where to go next. The terminal I am using is emulating a wyse 50+. Does this scenario suggest a disk corruption and should I go digging for a loose connection somewhere/replace the root disk, etc.

thanks in advance for your help,

John

You cannot boot off a floppy.
You will need to boot off the original AIX operating Cds, a mksysb tape,

The SMS diskette (which maybe you are referring to?)was replaced by microcode for the machine itself. My guess is that you need to find some other media to boot off of to see if you lost a hard drive etc.

Many thanks AIXqueen,

will give it a shot.

stay regal

john

Hi, I'm having this exact problem on an existing system that was running fine. Until today it started running really slow, so after work I used the shutdown command. After it was off I restarted the PC and now I cn't get anything other than FEB on the PC with the disk drive light going like crazy! Now i've looked all over to find answers, but cannot for the life of me find any boot disk here or anything helpful. I can't get into any SMS screens nothing happens, I'm totally lost right now. Anyone help??

FEB F30 Verify recovery image is