Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I need to pay invoices without affecting my bank balance

Status
Not open for further replies.

whuppie

Technical User
Aug 21, 2007
I am new to Peachtree, and am setting up our new company from the first of the year. I have entered my customer invoices, but now they show open when they have really been paid. How can I have these invoices show as Paid, without affecting my bank balances (I have already balanced my bank statements for Jan - July)?

I need to pay invoices without affecting my bank balance

If you figure out how to do this, please post it! I am VERY interested.

To be serious for a moment, I am sure there is a way to do this, hopefully a Peachtree expert will be along shortly.

Software Sales, Training, Implementation and Support for Macola, eSynergy, and Crystal Reports

"If the phone doesn't ring, it's me".....Jimmy Buffet

One of the eliments in the pay screen is the checking account. Set up a cash account for this and use that as the bank account. Then you can balance that out against owners equity. Right now I'm assuming your liabilities are over stated so you should be able to get in balance. Probably a lot of tricking accounting, however.

It is also possible that in your case you want to use credit memp's to close the invoices. Depends on how you set things up. I.E. did you bring in the money? and the bills.

If this works keep in mind that Peachtree remembers the last "checking account" used. You'll want to be carefule to get it back to the right one. when you are done.

Remeber to document in case you get audited. What your income statement.

Bill Couture