Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I need help in setting up a network that I've never done before 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

klobba

Technical User
Aug 11, 2001
AU
Heya everyone,
I'm new to this forum, and I wasn't able to find any past threads which helped me out.
My problem is that I've been asked to set up a network which involves a home PC dialing up to the main server at the video store the people own, so that they can get their sales totals for the day. I've only set up a standard server with one client, so I don't really know what to do.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanx
sylv
:D

you can user PC Anywhere for both ends. Jeffrey Rebong
Computer Engineer/Network Administrator
jrdebug@yahoo.com

hi jrdebug,
what is that?
i'm kind of new to networking
thanx
sylv

First figure out what type of network is it going to be peer to peer or client server based, etc and then go from there. PC Anywhere is a remote access based software which will allow you to access a computer from anywhere your located over either a network connection or a modem etc. You install PC Anywhere on both machines you want to share resources and setup host names and or IP addresses that both machines can talk to each other on. Once you do that you can set up security and other things so just anyone can't connect to the machine your trying to connect to without using a password. PC Anywhere is probably the easiest check it out it's at and they may have a demo you can try and then check out the manual or help menu for all the details on how to set it up. Peace

why using a third party product if Win2K has so many nice features for Remote access...