Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I need help converting between file structures 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

m2244

Programmer
Jun 5, 2013
US

I have a vbscript that is close to working but I need someone who knows what they are doing to help me with it. I am trying to convert an old file structure to a new file structure, renaming folders and files, copying files, etc. The problem is that it's hard to explain what I am trying to do without showing the 2 file structures and the files involved. Is there a good way to do this? I don't believe I can attach a zip file to a forum post. Is there a 3rd party site for sharing folders?

If someone can help me finish this code up I am willing to pay for the help.

Thanks in advance.

Tek-tips is a free site where members help other members solve tech-related problems. They do not charge for their services. If you enjoy the site and get value from the help given here, you can make a donation to help keep the site free:
Yes you cannot upload files here, you would have to upload to some other site and paste the URL into the attachment section of your post, though I'm not sure it's necessary in this case. It's up to you.

On July 1 you created a thread (thread329-1713903) which you never responded to. Assuming you are still working on the same problem, Geates advice there seemed pretty sound to me. What code do you have now and where are you stuck?

Thanks guitarzan,

I forgot I posted here a couple of weeks ago. I am in the military and had to go on a trip, I was hurrying around trying to get this done before I left. Now that I am back I really need to get this taken care of.