Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I am new in this industry and learn

Status
Not open for further replies.

abrahamelp

Technical User
Apr 9, 2018
US
I am new in this industry and learning to bid, quote and estimate for Cabling drops, I am currently learning the parts needed for a cable drop. but now my dilemma is
Estimating time labor for a tech to install cable?
what would be a good formula to estimate labor time?
I noticed many companies charge a flat rate for dropping cable which includes parts, cable and labor. in fact my company does have one, but I would like to figure out, individual labor time for when i work in Government bids which must all be itemized!
Any insight and advice is greatly welcome and appreciated.

You'd have itemize it out like a car mechanic. If you get your numbers right, you should make a profit most of the time. Mechanics have a pricing book that itemizes out every job that can be done to repair your car. It may say an oil change costs $50 and takes 1 hour. The mechanic has to make sure they get the job done in under an hour, because they only get paid for that hour. The shop has to make sure that the labor and materials for the oil change both cost under $50 in order to make a profit.

Most cable installers charge a flat rate for a new home installation with one drop. Then add $ for each additional drop in the house. The necessary splitters would be included in that price.