Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I am having trouble with MS/Office

Status
Not open for further replies.

billperryswb

Programmer
Nov 11, 2010
I am having trouble with MS/Office 2007.

Save As quit working (after working for several years).

Same problem with Excel and Word.

I have loaded all MS updates available.
I have uninstalled / installed Office 2007
I have run a full computer scan/repair (several times) using AVG 2012.0.2221.

This problem began about 08/01/2012.
I have been using Office 2007 for several years with no problems.

I double click the Excel Icon on my desktop, Click "Office Button", Click the Workbook Name that I want to open (I have tried several of my existing Books).

I make changes to a spreadsheet in the book I have just opened then click "Office Button", click "Save as", Click "Excel Workbook" then for File Name I leave the name that Office knows it by (with no extension on the name i.e. SheetName NOT SheetName.xlsx) and for "Save as type" I select "Excel WorkBook".

After a few (5 - 10) seconds a Dialog box "Microsoft Office Excel has stopped working" appears.

My only option then is to click "Close Program' in this dialog box.

After I click "Close Program" I then have to go into Task Manager and end EXCEL.EXE *32

I am having this problem with both Excel and Word.

This leads me to believe the problem is at the MS/Office level NOT Excel (and Word).

I have switched to using "Open Office" scalc and saving as an XLS with no problems.

This works fine I just prefer Excel as I have been using it for many years and know many short cuts to do things that I have to look up how to do in scalc.

Any help greatly appreciated.