Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HP ProCurve 5406zl routing problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Borvik

Programmer
Jan 2, 2002
US
I'm having some problem with routing an incoming connection - and I am no network engineer.

We got a new ISP with ethernet handoff through a WatchGuard - I do not have access to the WatchGuard. It is configured to NAT some of our public IPs to their corresponding internal server IPs, and put that traffic onto our switch on port A1.

I am unable to ping or connect to our servers using the new IP addresses assigned to us. It appears that it is routed correctly to us and our switch - but once at the switch it never reaches our servers.

Here is our setup.

We have 10 VLANs, and I believe our core switch (the 5046zl) is doing the routing between the subnets/VLANs. This core switch is connected to two other switches: a 2650, and a 2626 - I believe using some sort of Trunk. Our servers are attached to these last two switches and are in the IP subnet: 192.168.107.0/24. "show ip route" on the 5406zl shows that destination should be routed to our DMZ VLAN.

I setup a laptop with Wireshark, and configured the switch for port monitoring, then pinged one of our new public IPs. Sorting through the Wireshark data, I did find the ICMP packets coming into the switch properly NATted to the servers IP address. These were apparently being routed to a MAC address that after some digging and using walkmib on the core switch maps to the following ifPhysAddress: 291, 292, 410-417, 429, and 430. I'm not really certain how to interpret that.

I hoping someone can help me debug what is going wrong and how to fix this.

Thanks.