Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HP Printer Drops Out Of DNS

Status
Not open for further replies.

iainwatt

MIS
Feb 25, 2002
GB
Hello all,

I have a strange issue that is causing me some grief.

First off before I go any further my background is in networking and not servers. In fact I don't have access to the DNS servers or DHCP servers I'm about to ask about but my server team are pointing their fingers at the network for the problem I am about to describe. I just wanted anyone some advice or a solution to the problem if anyone has it.

The issue:
Some of our HP printers (various models) are dropping out of DNS. They obtain a DHCP address that has been reserved by MAC address from a Windows 2008 R2 server. The lease is 8 days and is active as the printer is responsive.

DNS is updated via DHCP as you would expect as this is how it is setup. DNS is on seperate servers from DHCP. However, without rhyme or reason the DNS entry gets lost by DNS randomly, sometimes over night sometimes during the day, well within the DHCP lease time. Once this happens people that print to the DNS name are left wanting. A reboot of the printer or shutdown of the switchport forces DHCP process to happen and the of course updates DNS and all is good again.

So the question is why is DNS dropping the record even though DHCP has an active lease and the client is indeed active?

The DNS and DHCP servers will both have their own time to live values. If the DNS server is set to expire registrations in less time than the DHCP lease it could explain why these entries are getting flushed.

Take a look at your DNS and check the SOA record. You should see something like this:
Code:
 IN SOA  machine.domain. (