Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HP OpenView

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 12, 2002
US
Hello,

I am a new HP OpenView admin and I am setting up certain employees to view the OpenView map via web. The problem I am running into is that they are on a different network than the OpenView server which is behind a PIX fire wall. I am trying to find out what ports need to be opened on the fire wall in order for them to view the map via web. In other words what ports does Web Navigator use? I have opened port 8880 which gets them to the server, but they are not unable to open the IP Network, it stops at 10% then gives an error.
Any information would be great. Thanks.

In addition to 8880, you have to open port 3700, 9999, 2345, 2346.

I've been on the phone with HP today. They tell me I need TCP ports: 2447, 80, 2953, 2954, 8880, 9999, 3700-3799.

We operate a system where various parties can take a web-view of networks using the "web presenter".

There are a few problems with this view, but nothing that we can't overcome, with ONE exception - and this will be quite valid for you...

Through a PIX firewall (for certain and maybe other firewalls) when you leave the session unattended for an amount of time, the session hangs up. When you then double click on an icon in the web view, the applet does not respond and you have to restart it. This is because the TCP session timeout (by default 60 minutes on a PIX) causes the TCP session to be removed from the connections table in the firewall. When you then click on an icon, the applet tries to re-open the same session (old) and not create a new one.