Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How UML "association class" should be implemented?

Status
Not open for further replies.

liuk

Programmer
Jan 16, 2006
IT
Hi everyone,
i'm new to object-oriented programming and i have a question.
Let's consider this example : two classes Employee and Project related by an association class Role which depict the role each employee has in projects.

Now suppose that i want to get a list with projects, employes and their roles.

I think i have to provide Project class with a method that retrieve from DB the list of all project and for each one the data about the employes and their role.

The question(s) is (are):
- should i create an instance of employee and role for each project i retrieve from the DB (suppose that i want to invoke some method of Role and get other data to show)
- If i want the detail about a specific employee should i load data from db (also about role and project) within the employee class and then create an instance of the related class? or each class should load data by itself?

I don't know which is the best way to implement this situation. does anyone have some advice?
thanks.

Here is one possible solution.

A Role class, with an Employee property and a Project property.

An Employee class with a GetRoles() method, which returns a list of all the roles they have in various projects.

A Project class, with a GetRoles() method that returns a list of all the roles it is currently being fulfilled by.

This structure is traversable so that the associations can be displayed in various list forms.