Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to verify a package is installed ok through installp?

Status
Not open for further replies.

whn

Programmer
Oct 14, 2007
US
Hi, experts,

I am new to aix and I need to verify whether a SW package is installed successfully through command 'installp'. I know I can use 'lslpp -f' to list the names of the files added to the system during installation of the specified fileset. But how can I tell the output of 'lslpp -f' is all correct?

For example, if I installed a package using 'pkgadd', I should be able to verify the installation according to pkgmap using a command like 'pkgchk -m pkgmap'. Wouldn't there be some similar commands to verify 'installp' is successful?

I have read man page for 'installp' & 'lslpp'. I'd guess 'install -l' could be helpful. But I don't know what argument to follow 'install -p'. To be more specific, I installed a package using thie command:

Code:
% installp -agXd . {packagename}

I guess that I should be able to tell what files are going to be installed before I execute the above command. After installation, I can then check the output of 'lslpp -f {packagename}'.

Could someone here kindly tell me how to find out what files are to be installed before the actuall installation?

Sorry for the lengthy post. I just want to make myself clear.

Thanks.

lslpp -L | grep filesetname

Is enough to tell whether the software have been installed or not!

Other than that is using the software to verify!

Regards,
Khalid

After a long search, I found an answer, well partially.

Before actually installing the package, run this command to get a list of files that will be installed:

% restore -Ta -vf {packagename}