Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to use CDO to send email?

Status
Not open for further replies.

snakehips2000

Programmer
Nov 10, 2003
GB
As an ASP newbie, I've looked at other threads and applied code to create a simple ASP page for users to send me email from a web page as follows:

<%
Set objMessage = Server.CreateObject("CDO.Message")
With objMessage
.To = "me@myaddress.com" //replace with valid address
.From = "him@hisaddress.com" //replace with valid address

.Subject = "Message Subject"
.TextBody = "Message Body"
.Send
End With
Response.write("Done")
Set objMessage = Nothing
%>

If I preview the page in IE, the message "Done" appears. I assume, therefore, that there are no syntax errors. However, the email does not arrive.

I'm confused. I'm running Windows 2000, IIS5, and normally use Outlook Express to view/send emails within Hotmail. I have installed the SMTP service. Do I have to configure the SMTP service in some way for this code to work?

I also see in some threads that I need to specify a "mail server" name. Where would I find this?

I don't want to get needlessly bogged down by this but my head's in a spin at the moment so any guidance is appreciated.

Does anything end up in the Inetpub\Mailroot\Badmail folder?

Hi Sheco and DotNetGnat, thanks for the responses.

I see that there are several files in the Badmail folder, with either a BDR or BAD file extension. Also while looking in that Inetpub\Mailroot folder I looked in the "Queue" folder. Judging by the timestamps, all my attempts to send this one simple email are there!

Where does that leave me?

Presumably there's something very basic that's gone over my head.