Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

how to upload list of multiples files from txt/csv file with ftp

Status
Not open for further replies.

brunello67

Vendor
Jul 30, 2021
IT
Hi everybody
I'm asking your help because i have a list of files to be uploaded with a script but i dont have any idea how to do it. (i'm not a programmer [ponder])

I can create a list in txt or csv.

can you give me a script to do it?

example: files.txt

123456.jpg
767676.jpg
929292.jpg

thanks a lot
Bruno
Italy

When you say you have no ide, do you mean you don't know how to loop through the file nor how to ftp the files contained therein? Or is it just the FTp you are struggling with?

i mean that i'm not a programmer so i'm not able to write a vbscript code so thats the reason why i'm asking in this forum.

i can make a list in txt or csv with all the files to be transferred via ftp but then i need a vbscript code to do it automatically

i hope this will help you
thanks a lot strongm

a vbscript that will transfer all the file that are in the txt or csv list file

Something like:

Code:
[COLOR=blue]Public Sub ftp()
    Dim ftpFolder
    Dim fso
    Dim path

path = "d:\downloads\deleteme\" [COLOR=green]' path to wherever your files are stored[/color]

With CreateObject("shell.application")
        Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
        Set ftpFolder = .Namespace("ftp://ftpsite.com")
        [COLOR=green]' Set ftpFolder = .Namespace("ftp://username:password@ftpsite.com")[/color] [COLOR=green]' use this pattern instead if ftp site requires a username and password[/color]