Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to upgrade in Debian?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CowboyX

Programmer
Dec 10, 2003
US
Can anyone point me to a good tutorial on how to upgrade PSQL to version 7.3.x or 7.4 on a Debian box? I've done it in OS X (thanks to Mike Liyanage's excellent packages), but I'm a Linux newb and have little idea what's going on over here.

do you want to use deb package, or want to compile it?

should be aware that the dep package I've seen is backpached for debian stable, so it is not stable ;-)) there won't be official stable package
and for debian unstable, i havn't seen what is the situation (the package system of debian doesn't work for sometime) and don't know if there is going to be soon official package for 7.4

I don't mind compiling, as long as the directions are for utter dummies.

I've tried going off the directions for the OS X upgrade, but everything's located in completely different places.

(note that this is a brand new, clean Debian install, so there's no data to preserve or back up)

debian packages also put the things everywhere
when you compile, you can change the directories, whereever you want, the default configuration puts them in one directory and default it is /usr/local/pgsql

you can do as normal user (not root)
download the source from postgresql.org,
decompress it and go to the directory, something like "cd ~/postgresql-7.4"
run
./configure
wait (if you want first you can run "./configure --help" to see the parameter and change something)
if everything is ok, run
make
and when it is done you should su to root and do
make install