Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to trim the white off of scans

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoGoSultanGo

Technical User
Sep 17, 2007
US
Hi, I'm completely new to Illustrator (not PS) and I've looked everywhere for a tutorial for this, but can't find anything. I scanned a black and white drawing on my computer with thick black ink. See, I'd like to take EVERYTHING but the black out of the picture, as in... well, all that white space, i want it to be transparent so I can put layers below it to make it black, but with a light brown background I made. Can someone help me plaese?

The scan is a raster image and more easily manipulted in Photoshop. I have to scan newspaper clippngs all the time for client reports.

I bring them into photoshop as tiffs and fix them there.

Using OSX 10.3.9 on a G4

So uh... can you please tell me how to do that on either PS or IR?

I try to keep it as simple as possible. I usually scan at a very high resolution to keep object edges as clean as possible.

If I just want a certain objec that's one color I'll try the magic wand and then select menu/similar. then copy. Then I start a new PSD doc and paste into it. If you want transparent use transparent in the new doc setup

The reason I do that is because paper usually does not scan to an even color. Since I'm mostly scanning newspaper the variations are really bad.

If you had a nice clean solid background you can play with layers and image menu - like curves to get rid of the white but, again, I've found too much variation in teh white backgroaudn generated by scanning paper.