Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to submit batch jobs in SAS Programming using task scheduler

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guest_imported

Jan 1, 1970
I've tried using the task scheduler to submit batch jobs, but the result was- could not start.

So, anyone knows how to solve this problem?
thanks

Hi,

I can do this with Vbscript and Windows Scheduler if you still need it

Danny

dmksas, please post your method for using vbsrcipt and Windows Scheduler.

I have been playing around with using VBA to run SAS with some success, but I am always interested in seeing new methods.

Using VBA to run SAS, are you using IOM or OLE? I have a lot of experience in utilising IOM from VB, VBA and vbscript.

The batch method requires vbscript..

This is the contents of a vbscript file that I use.. what it does is check a location for SAS program files, if one is found it batch submits it..

Code:
Dim fs, f, fc, f1, Ret
Set fs = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set f = fs.GetFolder([b]Input Location of folder containing sas program files[/b])
Set fc = f.Files
For Each f1 In fc
  If f1.Name <> "" Then
    Set Ret = WScript.CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
    Ret.run "C:\PROGRA~1\SASINS~1\SAS\V8\SAS.EXE " &chr(34) &"%1" &chr(34) &" -noprint -nologo -config C:\PROGRA~1\SASINS~1\SAS\V8\SASV8.CFG -log [b]place to save the log[/b] -sysin [b]Folder where program is held[/b] " & f1.name
    set ret = nothing
  Else
    MsgBox "No File Found to execute"
  End If
Next

The text in bold is where you will need to change, anything inside the ret.run will need to be in shortpath format.