Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

how to setup password on apache

Status
Not open for further replies.

akcrxnj

Technical User
Sep 28, 2003
US
I am sharing out files off of my web page but would like to password protect the actual page they reside on but still would like to keep my home page password free. I am very new to apache and need help.

<-- password free
<-- need password

Thanks

Check .htaccess under the FAQs for Apache.

Newposter
&quot;Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment.&quot;

Newposter thanks. I have looked at the .htaccess file and I had confgured it but all I get is a forbidden page and it states that I cannot gain acces. I have placed my .htpasswd file in a directory called passwd it looks like this

#/passwd/.htpasswd
it contains the usernae and encrypt password which I created by using

#htpasswd -c .htaccess willy

I then created an htaccess file and saved it within the directory in which it is loacted.

#/var/apache/htdocs/mp3

I remembered to call it .htaccess below id the actual output from my .htaccess file.

# more .htaccess
AuthUserFile /passwd/.htpasswd
AuthGroupFile /dev/null
AuthName PasswordProtectedSite
AuthType Basic

<Limit GET>
require user willy
</Limit>

What is the problem that I am having. The part that is killing me is that all the documentation on .htaccess pretty much states that there is about a 1001 ways to use it. All I am looking to do is to password protect only one or two directories off of my website thats it. Hope you can help.

Thanks

Your problem may be here :

AuthUserFile uses OS paths, not apache virtual paths so may you need to actually specify that directory.