Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to plan out policy(schedules),stgunit,stggroup,pools etc ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

bolobaboo

MIS
Aug 4, 2008
US
Hi
I am very new to NBU. Our enviornment has 300 intell and 100 unix system.We have 1 master ( sun t5120) for entire enviornment and 2 media ( sun x4500 disk storage) for lan based backup. one media server ( sun t5220 ) for SAN client for exchange and RMAN. One more media server ( sun t5220 ) for NDMP backup. We also have stk 8500 tape library.
Our plan is to have 45 days retention for all data and do increamental daiy and full on weekend. As of now we not planning for cloning ( VAULT ( offsite)). There is alos plan to migrate data if LAN media server ( x4500) fills to 80% to Tape library. NDMP and SAN client backup will go directly to 8500.
Now big question infront of me how do i plan for policy(what would be their schedule) , stgunit, stggroup, pools etc ? Is there any body can assists me in planning these ? I am looking for your expertise, don't want make mesh then rip apart in future and start all over again.
Thank you again.