Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to move numeric non integer data item to alphanumeric data item? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

yuriyking

Programmer
Jan 29, 2004
DE
Hi all.
Sorry, if the question is stupid, but I am totally new to COBOL.

I have two data items:

01 NNI PIC 9(05)V9(02) USAGE IS DISPLAY.
01 AN PIC X(07).

When trying to move:

MOVE NNI TO AN

I have the following error:

1561 IGYPA3005-S "NNI (NUMERIC NON-INTEGER)" AND "AN (ALPHANUMERIC)" DID NOT FOLLOW THE "MOVE" STATEMENT
COMPATIBILITY RULES. THE STATEMENT WAS DISCARDED.

It is OS/390, IBM COBOL FOR MVS & VM 1.2.2.

My question: can I somehow move value from NNI (without comma) to AN without using REDEFINES.

Thans a lot.

Hi yuriyking,

Guess it depends what you mean by redefines. Something like this should work, but it is an implicit redefinition.

Code:
    1   NNI.
     2      PIC 9(05)V9(02) USAGE IS DISPLAY.
        :
        :
        MOVE NNI TO AN

Enjoy,
Tony

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We want to help you; help us to do it by reading FAQ222-2244 before you ask a question.

Hi, Tony.
As I understood, redefining is normal practice in COBOL.
My native languages are C and C++, that's why I had some doubts whether redefining is a good style.
If in COBOL it is good style - OK.
I will do it this way.
Thank You.

Hi yuriyking,