Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to modify column datatypes in SQL Server 2000

Status
Not open for further replies.

canguro

Programmer
Sep 15, 2002
US
Hello,

I'm new to using SQL Server 2000. I recently created a table with about 12 columns by importing an already existing spreadsheet. When I look at the table in SQL Server Enterprise Manager, the grid of data is rather wide and I have to scroll to the right to see all columns. Even though I drag each of the column boudaries to the left to try to 'shrink' the view sizes, once I exit Enterprise Manager the changes are not applied/saved.

I would like to see all columns in one screen. Can someone advise if I can do it?

Also, many of the columns have sizes e.g., 8 or 10, that are larger than I need. Is there a simple way to modify column datatypes in a GUI view? Somehow, Design View does not let me make changes to the datatype sizes.

Thank you in advance.

I don't think that Enterprise Manager is really designed for displaying/editing table data.

If you use Query Analyzer, or even attach the table to an Access database via a DSN, you will have more luck with tailoring the layout of your output.

Thank you for your suggestion. I actually did try to modify the datatype of one column called High in my table, which I call BreakoutWatchList. I tried it in Query Analyzer but got an error message, and somehow I don't see where the obvious error is. Here is what I coded:

alter table BreakoutWatchList
modify High float(7)

Query Analyzer gave me the following message(s):

Server: Msg 170, Level 15, State 1, Line 2
Line 2: Incorrect syntax near 'High'.