Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to include a <script> call within a JS javascript file???

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcnyc

Technical User
May 31, 2002
US
Ok guys, I have been looking around in the net for the solution and couldn't find it... Then I have been looking around the net for forums and I found this... I really hope you can help me with this... I am a webdesigner not a programmer so I don't know javascript except for very basics...

In my website I include a header with a JS file (header.js). Basically this header.js file contains lots of document.write("content"); lines with my design.
I include the header.js file in my sites with a <script> call like this:
<script language=&quot;javascript&quot; src=&quot;/header.js&quot;></script>

Now I wanna ad a script to my pages (all my pages) so I wanna put it in the header to avoid editing over 100 pages. This script is written in perl and has to be called with a javascript call such as this one:

<script language=&quot;javascript&quot; src=&quot;/cgi-bin/online.pl&quot;></script>

I trid this:
document.write(&quot; currently <script language=\&quot;javascript\&quot; src=\&quot;/cgi-bin/usersonline/online.pl?tag=javascript\&quot;></script> user(s) online&quot;);

and I tried this:
document.write(&quot; currently &quot;);
src=&quot;/cgi-bin/online.pl&quot;>
document.write(&quot; user(s) online&quot;);

and both do NOT work.

Of couse the script works fine when launched from plain html so I know that.

So therefore my question is: how can I put a script call usually called with a <script> call INSIDE a header.js file that is then recalled on all the pages with a <script> call too????

PLEASE HELP ME!!!