Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to I find out the SAP Gateway Hostname?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cpjust

Programmer
Sep 23, 2003
US
Hi,
I'm a QA Engineer who was given the unpleasant task of testing a SAP plug-in for one of our products. I know absolutely nothing about SAP and I've only been stumbling around the SAP GUI for a few days, so please be explicit in your explainations. :)

The program I'm testing uses the SAP RFC library to communicate to SAP from a Windows box. I've tried a number of different options with varying levels of success, but I'm 99% sure I just need to set the right options in the saprfc.ini file.

I'm communicating to a SAP R/3 server, and I can connect to it since I managed to lock out my User ID with too many failed logins. ;-) This is the information that I have about the SAP server I'm using:
- Application Server IP Address.
- System ID.
- System Number = 00
- System = R/3
- Client = 500 (whatever that means?)
- Username.
- Password.
- Language = EN

I set the following info in my saprfc.ini file:
Code:
DEST=BIN_HS0011
TYPE=E
ASHOST=##.##.##.##
SYSNR=00
RFC_TRACE=0
ABAP_DEBUG=0
USE_SAPGUI=0
With that I get the following in my trace file:
Code:
**** ERROR file opened at 20070221 191322 Eastern Standar, REL 46D,0,925, VER 3 MT-SL
T:2704 ======> SAP gateway host name 'GWHOST=' not found
So I believe I need to add GWHOST and GWSERV parameters for the "SAP Gateway Hostname" and "SAP Gateway Service Name".
I managed to figure out how to add the BIN_HS0011 RFC Destination all by myself! [smarty] I just don't know how to find what the gateway hostname is or the service name (whatever that is?).