Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to get the selection from the BROWSE window 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

A_Radiolog_inFoxPro

IS-IT--Management
Mar 29, 2020
CY
Dear All ,
please bare with me , I am very very new to FoxPro (out of necessity)

to update a super old program ,
I am running FoxPro 6
So I have a DB file and at the end I am having this code

select <db>
SET ORDER TO <the field> DESCENDING
SET FILTER TO <a given expression>
**BROWSE FIELDS **<-----(this is the part I am having trouble with)

so as the window pops up and shows what my filter produced ,
I would like to know how can I grab that record and store it to pass the values to another subroutine or do something with them in general ,

I know it sounds stupid but I am a complete noob ,

I hope you can help me ,
And sorry again (if I am wasting your time) :'(

Thank you in advance
AN_Idiot_inFoxPro

BROWSE is a bad choice, you could create a form with a grid, but let's take that aside as enhancement for later.

When you click on a row in the browse window, this record becomes the current record. You navigate to it. The little arrow on the left indicates this, but also the highlighted current cell. Anyway, the whole row is the current record. And that stays when you close the window.

So you have the concepts of currently set datasession (SET DATASESION), currently selected workarea (SELECT aliasname/workareanumber), which can be seen as a handle to a table file DBF() or SQL query result, that is opened in that workarea, and each workarea has a current row, too. So this zooms in to what you want and the only thing you need to address is the column or field name:

As an example:
Code: