Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HOW TO DUPLICATE ROOT'S ACCESS...

Status
Not open for further replies.

TeleBOYWONDER

IS-IT--Management
Nov 8, 2002
US
NOT ALL OF IT!
I just want a user (scmen) to have the same rights to changes user passwords words.
Running SunOS 5.7.

THanks.

You could also give the user the userid of 0. I wouldn't though. Very bad things result when people play this game.

I guess I should have said, something like I'm a newbie with some c++ experience but most of my unix comes from my callcenter experience with CMS-call management systems, being the driving factor.

Can you perhaps give me a little more detailed information.
Basically I don't want to pay the vendor, $300 bucks to do something that should be simple as edit to login profile??

THANKS.

You could copy root's entry in the /etc/passwd file calling the new entry... ie:'kroot'. Don't forget to run "pwconv".

pneely,
Then could I rename "kroot" to scmen or would it just be better to cop root's entry to scmen?
What EXACTLY is the command line to copy it and is "passwd" the file I would need to edit??

("TEST:x:0:1:Super-User:/:/usr/bin/ksh" is what I find when I cat "passwd" in /etc directory, along with all users. )

Lastly, is there a notch uner "Super-User" in far as rights/privelages? If so that is what I would like the 'scmen' login to have.

Again thanks for your patience and help.

id still go with sudo, so all of the activity is logged and you could only let them do certain things. It works great. Any time you duplicate a super user function and not make an audit trail, your asking for a lot of trouble.

nawlej,