Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to deny TCP IP access

Status
Not open for further replies.

jakess

Technical User
Apr 17, 2000
ZA
How can i block a certain pc on our LAN to have no access to my pc. A college is using remote software to shutdown and install junk on my pc. Maybe to block a certain IP or computername. I am aware of IP filtering but need something realy simple which will work well.I have change the permissions.

Jake,

I'm a bit of a newbie on this forum, but would not a firewall work just the same ?

I know in zonealarm, you can block IP addresses, even nortons security has something similar.

r u sure someone has not installed a backdoor program such as backorrifice.

get some good av software, that should block it ok

----------------------------------------
Porsche, There is no substitute.

There are a few things you can try. First up I think you need to virus scan your PC. The website I use to find free / demo apps is Look in the freeware section and you should be able to find something to rid your PC of trojan programs etc.

Next you could try one or two things.

Sygate do a very good personal filewall application which is free and can be downloaded from webattack. This is a bit annoying to start with as it learns what you want to give access to, but once its been installed a couple of days you should have much better control over your network connection.