Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to Create Oracle Dbase Spanning Multiple Hard Drives 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

johndrake

Technical User
Jul 25, 2002
Hi All,

I'm new to Oracle and I am hoping that someone can help
me with this question. I currently Oracle 8.1.7 installed on
one of our hard drives (hdisk8). We are on an AIX box running AIX 4.3.3. Below is the layout:

hdisk8 000c30cd67998541 dbasevg
hdisk11 000c30cdebd9c802 None
hdisk13 000c30cd4661e24d None
hdisk14 000c30cd4661ed7a None
hdisk15 000c30cdba20fcf5 None
hdisk16 000c30cdba21077e None
hdisk17 none None
hdisk18 000c30cdebd7f601 None
hdisk19 none None
hdisk20 none None
hdisk21 000c30cd9f172a5b None
hdisk22 none None

I would like to create a database that would span these
existing hard drives. The first question is:

1. can I create a database that would span these hardrives?
2. how would I do it---just the "Oracle" stuff. I know how
to create volume groups, filesystems, etc.

Thank you,

-Joe

I have an Oracle db spread throughout 4vg's. I create lv's with mklv -y [lv_name] -t raw [vgname] [pp's] [hdisk#]. Then chown oracle.dba /dev/r[lv_name] and chmod 600 /dev/r[lv_name]. Then sqlplus and either create tablespace or # alter tablespace [tablespace_name] add datafile '/dev/r[lv_name]' size [lv size minus 1]; Then you can do fun table stuff. Hope this helps.

If you know the AIX stuff, just use the LVM to distribute the LVs across the disks. Doing that more or less obviates the need for doing anything on the Oracle side of things (IANADBA).

As for the Oracle end of creating databases, I would suggest looking in the Oracle forum.

Hi joe,