Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to combine Containers and Access Modules Collections

Status
Not open for further replies.

fburges

Programmer
Apr 18, 2005
US
Hi anyone
I'm new to tek-tips, & have a puzzler. With code in a source db in Access 2002 I want to open a target db's Access Modules collection, iterate each module by name, and use the Lines property of the Modules collection to copy the module's code to a table in the source db. Problem is that I only know how to get at the Modules collection for the current db, not the target db. How do I get at the target db's Modules collection? PS: I don't use the AllModules collection because OpenCurrentDatabase actually opens the db, which triggers start ups. I apologize for my wordiness. Anyone know of a way?
The following code is written in source.mdb.
Dim db As Database
Dim doc As Document
Set db = OpenDatabase("c:\temp\target.mdb")
For Each doc In db.Containers("Modules").Documents
MsgBox doc.Name

'WHAT HAPPENS NEXT - How to select target.mdb Module
'objects and use Lines property to copy the code to
'source.mdb?
Next