Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HOW TO CALCULATE TIME DIFFERENCE 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

icecr3amc4k3

Programmer
Apr 25, 2023
ID
Hi everyone ,i am a student who learn foxpro so i have a question..
i have an assigment to make parking ticket program and i dont know how to calculate time difference
example :
car parking at 7.00(text1) and car out at 9.00(text2)
so i want to see the result at text3(result) this is the code i tried but failed

(form) (active)
thisform.text1.Value = DATETIME ()
thisform.text2.Value = DATETIME ()

(comand1) (click)
a = INT(thisform.text1.Value)
b = INT(thisform.text1.Value)
result = b - a
thisform.text1.Value = result

in this case i just want to calculate the minute,where the results every 60 minute are multiplied by (IDR 4000)
thank for everyone to sees and answer my question i hope god bless you all.
Screenshot_56_cnchfy.png

Hello merpati89,

you can't simply convert a datetime data type to int, i.e. INT(DATETIME()) errors.

But you can simply subtract one of another datetime in VFP, the differnce is the number of seconds between the two datetimes. So to get minutes you can divide by 60.

Chriss

Code:
thisform.text1.Value = DATETIME()
thisform.text2.Value = DATETIME()

That code will simply place the current date and time in the two texboxes. And then, when you subtract one from the other, you will get zero.