Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to build Raid 5 on DL380 G5

Status
Not open for further replies.

forumit

MIS
Jul 9, 2009
ZA
I need to remove 4 old drives and replace it with 6 drives. How to i do this and configure RAID 5. How many spares drives do i need. I have never done this before. OS is Windows 2003 Server and is already installed. I wont be replacing hard drives where OS is installed.Please i need your urgent help on this task.

Easiest and safest way....
Assuming your old raid array data can fit on an IDE or SATA drive..
Add a SATA or IDE drive to a SATA/IDE interface, clone the old array to the SATA or IDE drive; boot via the SATA or IDE drive. Shutdown, remove the old array, add the new drives, create new array. Boot to Windows,reverse clone from the SATA/IDE clone to the new array, telling cloning software to expand the old arrays partition size to use the full size of the new array. Used Acronis and Paragon to do this. This could be done from an image also.
There is a way by replacing the present drives in the array with the larger new drives, then adding 2 more drives to expand the array, but far more work and not nearly as safe.

Chernobyl disaster..a must see pictorial

Some stupid questions:

1.Copy data from existing RAID partition.
2.Shutdown server, remove old drives and add new 6 drives.
3.Bootup server and use F8 or must i boot into OS and use HP ACU software to detect drives?
4.Delete old RAID and create new RAID partitions?
5. Any additional hardware required?

I need to 2 partitions, so i do i setup RAID for this. 3/3 split.The 3rd needs to be a spare?