Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to boot from a Mirrored HDD ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

raminriahi

Programmer
Sep 9, 2002
US
Hi. I am involved in a truely disaster happened few minutes ago. I'm a software developer and not a hardware guy.
Our server has two identical scsi hdd(80 gb). we're using the second one as mirror disk. 10 days ago the primary hdd went bad and it was running on Mirrored disk. This morning we had a power outage and since then it doesn't boot(The error message is "Inaccesssible_Boot_Device" ). we're running win2000 server OS.

Please advise me ASAP what can i do!
Can i physically switch the disks or swap the scsi control connections to the disk?

Thanks in advance,
Ramin Riahi

This may be a little too late for any help.

Usually if you're running a true mirror (RAID1), your server/BIOS will have a RAID controller. There will be a setup program or config program that is accessible at startup of the server. If you can access this area, you can reconfig which mirror (HDD) is primary. This will allow the other drive to operate as the main HDD until you can replace the bad one. However, some servers may require that 2nd HDD for mirror setup. In which case you may have to temporarily set the working HDD as stand alone/primary. This will at least allow you time to replace the HDD. Once you have your new HDD, you enter the setup/config area again, and reset your mirror. Your brand new HDD's data will then be built from the data of the working HDD.

Good Luck.

Ramin,