Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to add random minutes to a time field? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

joneas212

Programmer
Feb 12, 2020
US
I am fairly new to CR and have used these forums with great frequency and really appreciate all the great support it has provided. However, i cannot find a satisfactory answer to my problem .... perhaps I'm just trying to overthink this. Here is the problem:

When the report was first created, only the 'Service Start Time' field and the 'Duration' fields existed on the data entry form and the report. Then approx. 3 months ago, the 'Service End Time' was added. So now the bosses want the report to go back and complete the 'Service End Time' field on the reports if they are run in the future. We cannot go back and enter the End Times in the Data Entry as they are locked once submitted ....

So essentially, if End Time is Null, then add Start Time and Duration and provide the End Time.

time_omhsti.png

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Chris

End Time = Start Time + Duration

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my OLD subtlety...
for a NUance![tongue][/sub]
"The most incomprehensible thing about the universe is that it is comprehensible" A. Einstein

Certainly that's what I've been working to get .... but i cannot get anything to work.

//{Monitor_Tool.service_end_time} = ({Monitor_Tool.duration_service} + {Monitor_Tool.service_start_time})

//sum({Monitor_Tool.duration_service},{Monitor_Tool.service_start_time})

//sum({Monitor_Tool.duration_service}&{Monitor_Tool.service_start_time})

//dateadd('n', {Monitor_Tool.duration_service}, Monitor_Tool.service_start_time)