Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How much should i charge to setup a small Network 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

oosoceroo

MIS
Jan 15, 2004
US
I just started my own business and I've got a client that I've been doing business with for a bout 2 years. It's a Satellite Company and they just bought a new office and plan on moving in a few weeks. The office is a call center company and they receive calls and schedule the satellite installer to go out to the client’s home. I will need to design and build a network from roundup. I will need to purchase all new equipment including a server, 5-10 workstations, a router (VPN capable), a few hubs, and software. I will have to run Cat-5 throughout the entire office to several rooms all leading in a central closet. Once the network is setup I will have to configure a Domain Controller and create accounts and join all the machines to the server. This is a pretty big job I think but I just don’t know how to charge him. Should I charge per hour, entire project, or a contract? I do provide ongoing support by the hour. I’ve only been charging $30 an hour now that I’ve started my own business I’m definitely bringing up the rate to $80-$120. Has anyone done this and if you have how much did u charge and how did u charge the customer. Thanks

I would charge on a time & material basis. Charge for your time at your rate and charge for all materials (plus a small handling fee 5-10%).

If you decide to negotiate a lump sum contract, you will need to be sure there is a detailed specification for the project of face the prospect of spinning your wheels as they (re)design on the fly.