Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

how much info can you get out of IP address in php? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

MAWarGod

Programmer
Feb 15, 2002
US
How do I get the country, state, city, latitude, longitude, ZIP code, and timezone in PHP from the IP address.

Now I guess My question here comes out of the hours I spent looking over the wed, for a free script I could maybe mod to fit my needs, or the many, many requests out there for a script like this..

Now as I said in my other thread I am a novice to php. So I am sure this question has been asked many times but in my search I only found it asked in a mail function.. I need to either include it to my signup script or have it input to the set db table..

Code:
$xIp='';
		$xIp= (!empty($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']))?$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'] :((!empty($_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR'])) ? $_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR']: @getenv('REMOTE_ADDR'));
		if(isset($_SERVER['HTTP_CLIENT_IP']))
		$xIp=$_SERVER['HTTP_CLIENT_IP'];
		return htmlspecialchars($xIp,ENT_QUOTES);
	}
I am not sure it the is the right start but it the only one I could find..these are the strings variables in my input array..
Code:
$timezone
$county
$stateprovince
$city
$zip
$ziprec['latitude']
$ziprec['longitude']

do I use sessions??? Really the question is list long can someone please point me in the right direction.

Thank You
Robert

MA WarGod

I believe if someone can think it, it can be programmed

You have two choices, use a GeoIp service that can return the information you require or install and use the GeoIP extension for PHP.

----------------------------------
Phil AKA Vacunita
Ignorance is not necessarily Bliss, case in point: