Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do you test for T-1?

Status
Not open for further replies.

snidercomm

IS-IT--Management
Jan 21, 2002
US
Techs,

I have a customer who has asked us to verify some jacks to make sure the T-1 is present. They asked specifically "test for t-1 tone at jack". How is this done?

What type of tester would be used by a non telco technician to veryify a t-1 tone at the jack? I am not worried about the smart jack, I would be testing the jack that had been extended from the d-mark to the server area.

I have been working with phones and pc's for many years now and had never heard the terms "testing for t-1 tone", I had a vain hope this meant to just slap a butt set into the jack and see if I hear something, I realize that would be too easy. I also wondered if they meant an actual toner probe...Im confused.

Any help would be mucho welcome...

SCSTEK

UM T1 Tone

T1/E1 are digital protocols. You will need a ISDN analyser to check the jack for presence of signal.

You could try plugging a PBX trunk card in to it, if the card synchronises, t1 is present, but I guess, that is putting the cart before the horse!

Hope that helps

Matt

They are anting you to plug a T-1 analyzer in, like a Tbird.
If you have another active T-1. You can plug that equipment into the smart jack, or if you have a DSU plug it in to verify active. If the jack is where Telco equipment is, you could look at circuit card to verify circuit is comming into building. Good Luck!!

Techs,