Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do you telnet into a nokia checkpoint box?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bkmeyer

MIS
Feb 27, 2003
US
Our Engineer here was recently fired and securing the network is up to me. I am only a Network Admin with no firewall/router experience. I have a laptop with a null modem and straight through cable. Niether one can connect to the console port of the box. If anyone has any info that they could give me I would be very gratefull. I have been trying for almost a week now. I was told to use cpconfig but I can't get a prompt.

Brian Meyer

Telnet will most probably not be allowed. However SSH might be so it's worth trying that.

For console access you need to use the same settings as a Cisco router.

Baud rate: 9600
Data Bits: 8
Parity: None
Stop Bits: 1

Providing that you have the correct cable this will work.

Chris.
Chris Andrew, CCNA, CCSA
chris@iproute.co.uk

also try the voyager connection
you may find that you can use a brouser session into the box
put the laptop on the lan segment with the firewall and just put the ip address into the address

Brian,

As described by email you will need to use a nokia cable for a console session. The ONLY way to change an unknown admin password is from a local console session (unless you have out of band management like an Arula connected to the console port already).

This is the Nokia resolution for a password overwrite (straight lift from their site):

This resolution describes how to reset the admin password, should it be unknown or forgotten. There are some important notes that need to be considered first:

The supported method is to boot the system into single-user mode and run /etc/overpw