Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do you learn new stuff?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadyG

Programmer
Mar 20, 2012
NZ
I've been in development for about 20 years now, and I've recently been forced to take a years break from professional life. During this absence I tried to keep up with all the trends, but now I'm back as a free lance developer I find it impossible to spare the time to keep up with all the latest technologies. For example, I would really like to try Silverlight as a web project, but it wouldn't be fair on my client to have to wait for me to learn how to use it, when I can do the job with what I know already. On the other hand, I could probably produce a better end result if I learnt how to use it. I'd be grateful for any suggestions.

Shady

Perhaps just get the jobs that you do know well... learn the other stuff on the side as a comparison. If you get a web development gig that uses C# w/ AJAX then great, do it. You can always spend a little time afterward or in your free time seeing if you can do it better in Silverlight.

I don't fret much over this stuff too much. The field changes so quickly, that if I did, I'd be nuts by now... well, I'm already nuts, but I'd make myself nuttier. Do what you need to do, and learn as you can. I'm a .Net developer right now that isn't doing .Net Development, but instead PowerBuilder because that's what the client needs/wants. <Shrug/> It's all good.

Walt
IT Consulting for Robert Half